[contact-form 2 “Form on Page”]

The Indian Institute of Technology Joint Entrance Examination (popularly known as JEE (Main) & JEE (Advanced) or just JEE) is an annual college entrance examination in India.
A total of fifteen colleges use JEE as a sole criterion for admission to their undergraduate programs. The fifteen colleges include the seven old and six new (2008) Indian Institutes of Technology, IT-BHU Varanasi, and ISMU Dhanbad.

Starting in 2007, newly established institutions such as Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs) at Kolkata, Pune, Mohali, Bhopal & Thiruvananthapuram, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, Indian Institute of Maritime Studies, Mumbai and Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Petroleum Technology (RGIPT), Raebarely Uttar Pradesh are also admitting students through the JEE (Extended Merit List).

The exam is conducted by the various IITs by a policy of rotation. It is one of the toughest engineering entrance exams in the world with a success rate of around 1 in 45. Candidates who qualify in the JEE (Main) & JEE (Advanced) can apply for admission to the

  • BArch (Bachelor of Architecture)
  • BDes (Bachelor of Design)
  • BTech (Bachelor of Technology)
  • Dual Degree (Integrated Bachelor of Technology and Master of Technology)
  • Integrated MSc (Master of Sciences)

Achieving entrance into an IIT is often considered the pinnacle of achievement for a student of the sciences, and the IITs/IT-BHU/ISM attract most of the brightest students of the nation.

Of the 384,977 candidates who appeared in the examination conducted on April 12, 2009, 10,035 candidates have been declared qualified to seek admission, giving a selectivity of 1 in 38 overall, 1 in 46 for the 8,295 seats in IITs,IT-BHU and ISMU and 1 in 59 for the IITs only.

Current examination format

IITJEE-2009 was held on April 12, 2009.

JEE-2008 was conducted on April 13, 2008 retaining the same pattern as JEE-2007 containing Paper-I & Paper-II

JEE-2007 had two papers of three hours duration each. The two papers each contained Math, Physics and Chemistry sections

In previous years, there were separate math, physics and chemistry papers, each of two hours’ duration).

The syllabus of the examination is based on topics covered by the CBSE Board Examination (AISSCE) and the ISC Board Examination, though all topics of the AISSCE and the ISC are not included in the JEE syllabus.

The pattern of questions in JEE is deliberately variable so as to minimize the chance of students getting selected by cramming up the probable questions. Currently, the examination has objective type question paper for all the subjects and uses machine readable Optical mark recognition answer sheets.


The number of students taking this examination has increased substantially each year with the JEE-2008 registering about 311,258 candidates. The availability of seats in recent years is as given in table below:

InstituteIntake (2003)Intake (2006)Intake (2007)Intake (2008)Intake (2009)
IIT Bombay554574574648746
IIT Delhi552553553626721
IIT Guwahati350365365435498
IIT Kanpur456555541608702
IIT Kharagpur6598958749881138
IIT Madras554520540612713
IIT Roorkee5466167468841013
New IITs opened in 2008
IIT Bhubaneshwar120120
IIT Gandhinagar120120
IIT Hyderabad120120
IIT Patna120120
IIT Punjab120120
IIT Rajasthan120120
New IITs opened in 2009
IIT Indore120
IIT Mandi120
Total (IITs)35714078419355216491
IT-BHU (Varanasi)568708686766881
ISMU Dhanbad444658658705923

Leave a Comment